Microsoft fixes bug that prevents Windows 11 from erasing user data after a reset

With the release of the latest round of Patch Tuesday updates, Microsoft has resolved a known issue that prevented user data from being completely erased after resetting a Windows 10 or Windows 11 PC.

First discovered by Microsoft MVP Rudy Ooms in February, the bug caused some user data to remain readable in the “Windows.old” folder after a remote control or local wipe in Windows. At the same time, the issue also moved data encrypted with Bitlocker to the same folder, but after that they were readable because the data was no longer encrypted.