Beware, WhatsApp users – the popular messaging service adds yet another tool to the arsenal of predominant group chat managers.
As noted by WABetaInfo (opens in new tab), WhatsApp is working on a new update that will give admins the ability to delete all messages sent in group chats they oversee. Currently, messages can only be deleted by the users who originally sent them, but this new feature — rolling out in beta soon — would share the privilege with administrators.
However, all group members will be notified if and when an admin deletes a group post, and admins will be notified before confirming the option to do so.
As part of a more imminent app update, WhatsApp users will also be given more time to delete embarrassing or mistimed group chat messages (let’s face it, we’ve all been there…).
The Delete for Everyone feature, which currently remains active for 1 hour, 8 minutes, and 16 seconds after a message has been sent, will soon be expanded to 2 days and 12 hours.
As reported by SamMobile (opens in new tab)this extended time is already available to some Android users – which were previously included in WhatsApp beta version 126.96.36.199 – and is expected to be rolled out to all WhatsApp users in an upcoming software update.
The ability to delete WhatsApp group messages has undoubtedly proved a useful feature for millions of carefree texters in recent years, whose occasional drunken or mis-timed messages have been quickly banned from their respective group chats.
Simply put, WhatsApp’s latest update gives users the convenient option to delete the messages the morning after – rather than within the hour of being sent…